25-30 August 2019
Henry Ford Building
Europe/Berlin timezone

Spinning faster: Developments and Applications to Biological NMR

29 Aug 2019, 10:30
Lecture Hall C (Henry Ford Building)

Lecture Hall C

Henry Ford Building

Invited talk Biological applications Biomolecules


Prof. Beat H Meier (ETH Zurich)


Solid-state Protein NMR: Resolution and Sensitivity for Fast MAS Experiments
Beat H. Meier1, Alexander Malär1, Maarten Schledorn1, Anahit Torosyan1, Susanne Penzel, Thomas Wiegand1, Denis Lacabanne2, Albert A. Smith1, Nils-Alexander Lakomek1, Alons Lends, Vlastimil Jirasko, Lauriane Lecoq2, Matthias Ernst1, Anja Böckmann2
1Laboratory of Physical Chemistry, ETH Zürich, Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 2, 8903, Zurich, Switzerland.2Institut de Biologie et Chimie des Protéines, Bases Moléculaires et Structurales des Systèmes Infectieux, Labex Ecofect, UMR 5086 CNRS, Université de Lyon, 7 passage du Vercors, 69367 Lyon, France

Fast magic-angle spinning allows for highly resolved protein proton spectra and gives access to site-specific relaxation data in solid proteins. Fast MAS requires small rotor diameters and correspondingly small sample amounts in the order of 100 picoliters, limiting the signal-to-noise ratio. The limitations encountered depend on the linewidths and coherence lifetimes and will be discussed in detail.
Spectra at 150 kHz MAS (and hopefully higher) will be discussed and compared to spectra around 100 kHz.
Applications presented include dynamical aspects of the helicase DnaB, a bacterial, ATP-driven enzyme that unwinds double-stranded DNA during DNA replication. Conformations mimicking the pre-hydrolytic state, the transition state and a post-hydrolytic state are arrested and then investigated by 3D NMR spectroscopy. In addition, spectra of viral capsids, membrane proteins, and of the Rpo4/7 protein complex will be discussed.

Primary authors

Prof. Beat H Meier (ETH Zurich) Alexander Malär (ETH Zurich) Maarten Schledorn (ETH Zurich) Anahit Torosyan (ETH Zurich) Dr Thomas Wiegand (ETH Zurich) Denis Lacabanne (ETH Zurich) Callon Morgane (ETH Zurich) Niels-Alexander Lakomek (ETH ZUrich) Rajdeep Deb (ETH Zurich) Susanne Penzel (ETH Zurich) Vlastimil Jirasko (ETH ZUrich) Pfister Sara (ETH Zurich) Lauriane Lecoq (IBCP Lyon) Matthias Ernst (ETH Zurich) Dr Anja Böckmann (IBCP Lyon)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.