25-30 August 2019
Henry Ford Building
Europe/Berlin timezone

A High–Field ESR Study using Hexaaqua Complex Salt Containing High-Spin Metal Ion: The Evaluation about a Potential of Tutton’s Salt as a Pressure Standard for High-Pressure ESR Measurement

Not scheduled
Harnack House and Henry Ford Building

Harnack House and Henry Ford Building

Board: 402
Poster Posters


Dr Yu Saito (Kobe University)


Recently, the function of proteins is much more attract attention and measurement of high-pressure NMR about proteins showed many remarkable results in this field. We reported zero-field splitting (ZFS) parameter D term was increased depending on load pressure raise that used the hemin as a model compound of metalloprotein using ESR employing terahertz light and high–pressure (HP–THz ESR). On the other hand, gz value was shown significant decreases in especially almost 0 to 1 GPa region, inversely. However, calibration of pressure in this system is not enough and estimated pressure value from the outer load is conceiving with containing some volume of errors. Because due to the pressure standard marker like as DPPH as magnet field marker was not reported. Hence, we considered that the ability and usability of Tutton's salt (TS) as a pressure standard marker. TS could understand from simple crystal field theory and precise ZFS parameters of various TS could be got from recent reports of Prof. Rudowicz group. A TS with Fe2+ ion (also called Mohr's salt, S=2) was measured in the region of up to 1.8 GPa and 0.4 THz. The result showed significant pressure dependence of E term (H//y) as increase of E = 3.7782 (0 GPa) to E = 4.8345 (1.8 GPa). This increase of E term had assigned from the decrease of symmetry of orthorhombic crystal structure depending pressure rise. Especially, referencing similar study without pressure, increase of E term conclude as decrease of symmetry along x- and y-axis direction. Similarly, we also evaluated TS salt containing with Ni2+ ion (S=1). In the presentation of the day, we will show the result in detail.

Primary authors

Dr Yu Saito (Kobe University) Dr Takahiro Sakurai (Kobe University) Dr Shigeo Hara (Kobe University) Dr Susumu Okubo (Kobe University) Prof. Hitoshi Ohta (Kobe University)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.