25-30 August 2019
Henry Ford Building
Europe/Berlin timezone

Prizes and Awards

Each of the organizing societies provide Prizes that are to be awarded during EUROISMAR 2019. The list below are the confirmed Prizes so far.


Full conditions for these Prizes are detailed on the GDCh FGMR website.

GDCh-Ernst Awards: honouring the work of young scientists (PhD students), based on a recent paper that was written and published between 1 April 2018 and 1 April 2019.

Felix-Bloch-Lecture: A special award is given to a distinguished scientist in the field of magnetic resonance. Nominees -- preferably young researchers (group leaders) -- should have made a particularly impactful scientific contribution over the course of the last five years.


ISMAR Prize: awarded for outstanding achievement in the field of magnetic resonance. Jane Dyson and Peter Wright, both from the Scripps Research Institute, USA, are co-recipients of the 2019 ISMAR Prize.

Paul Callaghan Lecture: Malcolm Levitt (Southampton, UK) will deliver the 2019 Paul Callaghan Lecture at the start of the conference on Monday morning.

Anatole Abragam Prize: awarded to candidates within seven years of completing their PhD. Preference will be given to nominees who have made original and independent contributions to experimental or conceptual aspects of magnetic resonance beyond accomplishments attributable to work performed with their research supervisors. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young scientists at a typically important point in their career.

AMPERE Society

Please click on the "Award" button on the AMPERE Society website to find out more about the awards.

EUROMAR-Ernst Prize: to recognize recent beneficial applications of Magnetic Resonance. Please nominate before 17 February 2019.

Raymond Andrew Prize: the prize is awarded to young scientists for an outstanding PhD thesis in magnetic resonance.